Illinois

GHSA maintains data on state laws surrounding a number of highway safety issues. Below is information regarding laws in the state of Illinois. Please note that GHSA does not compile any additional data on state laws other than what is presented in these pages. For more information, consult the appropriate State Highway Safety Office.

  • Alcohol Impaired Driving

    Penalties

    Increased Penalty for High BAC Administrative License Suspension on First Offense Limited Driving Privileges During Suspension Vehicle and License Plate Sanctions
    .16 6 months After 30 days Impoundment, vehicle confiscation

    Ignition Interlocks

    Mandatory for all convictions

    Other

    Open Container Laws Repeat Offender Laws Alcohol Exclusion Laws Limiting Treatment
    Yes Yes No

     

  • Bicyclists and Pedestrians

    No bicycle helmet laws.

  • Child Passenger Safety

    Child Restraint Required

    Under 8 yrs

    Adult Safety Belt Permissible

    8-15 yrs

    Over 40 lbs in rear seat if only lap belt available

    Maximum Fine for 1st Offense

    $75 ($200 for subsequent offenses)

  • Distracted Driving

    Hand-Held Ban?

    Yes. Primary law.

    All Cell Phone Ban?

    School Bus Drivers

    Yes. Primary law.

    Novice Drivers

    Drivers under 19. Primary law.

    Text Messaging Ban?

    All drivers. Primary law.

  • Drug Impaired Driving

    DUID Zero Tolerance or Per se Laws for Some Drugs

    • Zero tolerance for some drugs

    Marijuana-Specific Laws

    • Possession and Use: Legal for medical use
    • Impaired Driving: Zero tolerance for THC and metabolites
  • Mature Drivers

    Length of Regular Renewal Cycle

    4 years

    Provisions for Mature Drivers

    81-86: renewal every 2 years

    87 and over: renewal every year

    75 and over: road test required

     

  • Motorcyclists

    Universal helmet law repealed 1970.

  • Seat Belts

    Type of Law

    Primary

    Who Is Covered?

    Riders 16 and over

    In What Seat?

    All

    Maximum Fine for 1st Offense

    $25 plus court costs

  • Sobriety Checkpoints

    Several hundred checkpoints are conducted each year. Their legality is upheld under federal Constitution.

  • Speed and Red Light Cameras

    Speed Cameras

    Violation/State Law

    Limited

    Permitted Locations/Criteria

    Construction zones or toll roads. Local use prohibited. State use only when officer is present and witnesses the event.

    Citation Issued To/Liability

    Registered owner/Driver

    Image Taken

    Tag and driver

    Penalties (Traditional Penalties)

    $250 or 25 hours of community service ($250 mandatory; 20 points)


    Red Light Cameras

    Violation/State Law

    Limited

    Permitted Locations/Criteria

    Local ordinance required

    Citation Issued To/Liability

    Registered owner/Owner

    Image Taken

    2 or more images of vehicle and tag

    Penalties (Traditional Penalties)

    $100 and/or traffic education program; not a moving violation or a record offense ($500 maximum; 20 points)


    Rail Crossing Cameras

    Violation/State Law

    Limited

    Permitted Locations/Criteria

    Local ordinance required; in cooperation with IL DOT and IL Commerce Commission

    Citation Issued To/Liability

    Registered owner/Driver (owner if driver is not identified by owner)

    Image Taken

    Vehicle, driver and tag

    Penalties (Traditional Penalties)

    $250 or 25 hours of community service ($250 maximum for 1st offense; $500 for subsequent offenses with discretionary 6 month suspension)

  • Speeding and Aggressive Driving

    Rural Interstates

    Cars (MPH) Trucks (MPH)
    70 70

    Urban Interstates

    Cars (MPH) Trucks (MPH)
    55 55

    Other Limited Access Roads

    Cars (MPH) Trucks (MPH)
    65 55
  • Teen and Novice Drivers

    Full Privilege Minimum Age

    Nighttime driving: 18 years

    Driving with passengers: 17 years

    Learner Stage

    Minimum Age (Years/Months)

    Minimum Duration (Months)

    Required Supervised Driving Hours (Night Hours)

    15 9 50 (10)

    Intermediate Stage

    Minimum Age (Years/Months)

    Nighttime Driving Restriction

    Passenger Restriction (except family, unless noted)

    16

    Sun-Thurs: 10 p.m. - 6 a.m

    Fri-Sat: 11 p.m. - 6 a.m.

    First 12 months: no more than 1 under 20
  • Work Zones

    Violations Affected

    Speeding

    Enhanced Penalties

    $375 for 1st offense; $1,000 for all subsequent offenses

    Workers Must Be Present?

    No

    Signs Must Be Present?

    Yes