Teen and Novice Drivers: Delaware

Full Privilege Minimum Age

17 years

Learner Stage

Minimum Age (Years/Months)

Minimum Duration (Months)

Required Supervised Driving Hours (Night Hours)

16 6 50 (10)

Intermediate Stage

Minimum Age (Years/Months)

Nighttime Driving Restriction

Passenger Restriction (except family, unless noted)

16 / 6 10 p.m. - 6 a.m. No more than 1

*Note: Delaware's GDL law also includes a seat belt provision. If a teen driver with a permit or their passenger under age 18 is found not to be wearing a seat belt, the permit holder will have their license suspended for 2 months.

State