Bicyclists and Pedestrians

GHSA does not track state pedestrian safety laws but does track bicycle helmet laws in states where they have been enacted. Few states have enacted bicycle helmet laws. While GHSA only tracks state laws, many localities require helmet use for some or all bicyclists.

  • 21 states, the District of Columbia, Guam, the Northern Mariana Islands and the Virgin Islands have a helmet law for bicyclists below a certain age, generally about 16.
    • Only the Virgin Islands and Guam require helmets for all bicyclists.
  • The remaining (unlisted) 29 states and Puerto Rico have no bicycle helmet law.

Sources: Insurance Institute for Highway Safety (IIHS) and State Highway Safety Offices.

  • Alabama

    Bicycle helmets required for all riders under 16.

  • California

    Bicycle helmets required for all riders under 18.

  • Connecticut

    Bicycle helmets required for all riders under 16.

  • Delaware

    Bicycle helmets required for all riders under 18.

  • District of Columbia

    Bicycle helmets required for all riders under 16.

  • Florida

    Bicycle helmets required for all riders under 16.

  • Georgia

    Bicycle helmets required for all riders under 16.

  • Guam

    Bicycle helmets required for all riders.

  • Hawaii

    Bicycle helmets required for all riders under 16.

  • Louisiana

    Bicycle helmets required for all riders under 12.

  • Maine

    Bicycle helmets required for all riders under 16. $25 fine for a second or subsequent violation.

  • Maryland

    Bicycle helmets required for all riders under 16.

  • Massachusetts

    Bicycle helmets required for all riders 1 or older and younger than 17. Children under 1 year of age prohibited.

  • New Hampshire

    Bicycle helmets required for all riders under 16.

  • New Jersey

    Bicycle helmets required for all riders under 17.

  • New Mexico

    Bicycle helmets required for all riders under 18.

  • New York

    Bicycle helmets required for all riders 1 year or older and under 14. Children under 1 prohibited.

  • North Carolina

    Bicycle helmets required for all riders under 16.

  • Northern Mariana Islands

    Bicycle helmets required for all riders under 18.

  • Oregon

    Bicycle helmets required for all riders under 16.

  • Pennsylvania

    Bicycle helmets required for all riders under 12.

  • Rhode Island

    Bicycle helmets required for all riders under 16.

  • Tennessee

    Bicycle helmets required for all riders under 16.

  • Virgin Islands

    Bicycle helmets required for all riders.

  • West Virginia

    Bicycle helmets required for all riders under 15.