Kansas

GHSA maintains data on state laws surrounding a number of highway safety issues. Below is information regarding laws in the state of Kansas. Please note that GHSA does not compile any additional data on state laws other than what is presented in these pages. For more information, consult the appropriate State Highway Safety Office.

Seat Belt Laws: Kansas

Type of Law

Primary

Who Is Covered?

Riders 14 and over

In What Seat?

Riders ages 14-17: All

Riders 18 and over: Front (other seating positions are secondary enforcement)

Maximum Fine for 1st Offense

Riders ages 14-17: $60

Riders 18 and over: $30

Subscribe to Kansas