Louisiana

GHSA maintains data on state laws surrounding a number of highway safety issues. Below is information regarding laws in the state of Louisiana. For more information, consult the State Highway Safety Office.

Louisiana
AV legislation

Authorizes full deployment of commercial motor vehicles without a human operator

Louisiana
Bike helmets required?

Bicycle helmets required for all riders under 12.

Louisiana
Motorcycle Helmet Required?

Universal helmet law enacted 2004.

Louisiana
Length of Regular Renewal Cycle

4 years

Louisiana
Provisions for Mature Drivers

70 and over: no mail renewal

Louisiana
DUID Zero Tolerance or Per se Laws for Some Drugs

None

Louisiana
Marijuana Possession and Use

Illegal

Louisiana
Marijuana Impaired Driving

None

Louisiana
Other Limited Access Roads: Trucks (MPH)

70

Louisiana
Rural Interstates: Cars (MPH)

75

Louisiana
Rural Interstates: Trucks (MPH)

75

Louisiana
Urban Interstates: Cars (MPH)

70

Louisiana
Urban Interstates: Trucks (MPH)

70

Louisiana
Other Limited Access Roads: Cars (MPH)

70

Louisiana
Increased penalty for high BAC

.15 and .20

Louisiana
Administrative license suspension on first offense
Louisiana
Limited driving privileges during suspension
Louisiana
Ignition Interlocks

Mandatory for high BAC (0.20 and above) and repeat convictions; highly incentivized for convictions

Louisiana
Open container laws

No

Louisiana
Repeat Offender Laws

No

Louisiana
Child Restraint Required

Under 2 yrs in rear-facing child safety seat
2-3 yrs and outgrown rear-facing height or weight in forward-facing child safety seat
4-8 yrs and outgrown forward-facing height or weight in booster seat
Under 13 in rear seat if possible

Louisiana
Adult Safety Belt Permissible

9-12 yrs or over 60 lbs

Louisiana
Intermediate Stage: Minimum Age (Years/Months)

16

Louisiana
Intermediate Stage: Nighttime Driving Restriction

11 p.m. - 5 a.m.

Louisiana
Intermediate Stage: Passenger Restrictions (Except Family, Unless Noted)

No more than 1 under 21 between 6 p.m. - 5 a.m.

Louisiana
Full Privilege Minimum Age

17 years

Louisiana
Learner Stage: Minimum Age (Years/Months)

15

Louisiana
Learner Stage: Minimum Duration (Months)

6

Louisiana
Learner Stage: Supervised Driving Hours (Night Hours in Parenthesis)

50 (15)

Louisiana
Type of Law

Primary

Louisiana
Who is Covered?

13 and over

Louisiana
In What Seat?

All

Louisiana
Hand-Held Ban?

Drivers with learner or intermediate license, regardless of age. Drivers in school zones. Primary law.

Louisiana
All Cell Phone Ban? School Bus Drivers

Yes. Primary law.

Louisiana
All Cell Phone Ban? Novice Drivers

Drivers under 18. Primary law.

Louisiana
Text Messaging Ban?

All drivers. Primary law.

Louisiana
Speed Cameras: State Law

Permitted by state law and city ordinance

Louisiana
Speed Cameras: Where Permitted

Specified jurisdictions; not permitted on interstate highways except operated by state in construction zones when workers are present

Louisiana
Red Light Cameras: State Law

Permitted by state law

Louisiana
Red Light Cameras: Where Permitted

Specified jurisdictions

Lyft Grant Results: Louisiana

The Louisiana Highway Safety Commission (LHSC) was one of five State Highway Safety Offices to receive a grant from GHSA and ride hailing company Lyft to prevent impaired driving during the 2018 holiday season. With its grant, LHSC complemented its annual "Drive Sober or Get Pulled Over" enforcement campaign with social media messaging to spotlight discounted Lyft rides.

Need a ride this holiday? Lyft offering discount in program with safety commission

Having received one of GHSA and Lyft's grants to help deter impaired road use, the Louisiana Highway Safety Commission (LHSC) is offering discounted rides to travelers this holiday season. LHSC's Mark Lambert discusses the program.

Need a ride this holiday? Lyft offering discount in program with safety commission

Story by Ellen Couvillion
December 18, 2018

States Receive Funds to Tackle Teen Driver Safety

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE
July 17, 2018

CONTACT: Madison Forker, mforker@ghsa.org
202-789-0942 x120

Delaware, Louisiana, Montana, Nebraska, and Tennessee Awarded More than $70,000

WASHINGTON, D.C. – The Governors Highway Safety Association (GHSA) and Ford Driving Skills for Life (Ford DSFL) have awarded State Highway Safety Offices in five states funding to support teen safe driving programs.

Subscribe to Louisiana