Texas

GHSA maintains data on state laws surrounding a number of highway safety issues. Below is information regarding laws in the state of Texas. For more information, consult the State Highway Safety Office.

Texas
AV legislation

Authorizes full deployment of AVs without a human operator.

Texas
Motorcycle Helmet Required?

Helmets required for all riders under 21 as well as those who have not completed a safety course or have no medical insurance (secondarily enforced). Universal helmet law repealed 1997.

Texas
Length of Regular Renewal Cycle

6 years

Texas
Provisions for Mature Drivers

85 and over: renewal every 2 years
79 and over: no electronic or mail renewal

Texas
Urban Interstates: Trucks (MPH)

75

Texas
Other Limited Access Roads: Cars (MPH)

75

Texas
Other Limited Access Roads: Trucks (MPH)

75

Texas
Rural Interstates: Cars (MPH)

75; 80 or 85 on specified segments

Texas
Rural Interstates: Trucks (MPH)

75; 80 or 85 on specified segments

Texas
Urban Interstates: Cars (MPH)

75

Texas
Increased penalty for high BAC

0.15

Texas
Administrative license suspension on first offense

90 days if .08 or greater; 180 days for refusal

Texas
Limited driving privileges during suspension

Yes

Texas
Ignition Interlocks

Mandatory for repeat convictions

Texas
Open container laws

Yes

Texas
Repeat Offender Laws

yes

Texas
Child Restraint Required

7 yrs or under and under 57" tall

Texas
Adult Safety Belt Permissible

8 yrs or older or over 57"

Texas
Learner Stage: Minimum Duration (Months)

6

Texas
Learner Stage: Supervised Driving Hours (Night Hours in Parenthesis)

30 (10)

Texas
Intermediate Stage: Minimum Age (Years/Months)

16

Texas
Intermediate Stage: Nighttime Driving Restriction

Midnight - 5 a.m. (secondary enforcement)

Texas
Intermediate Stage: Passenger Restrictions (Except Family, Unless Noted)

No more than 1 under 21 (secondary enforcement)

Texas
Full Privilege Minimum Age

18 years

Texas
Learner Stage: Minimum Age (Years/Months)

15

Texas
Type of Law

Primary

Texas
Who is Covered?

7 and under who are over 57"
8 and over

Texas
In What Seat?

All

Texas
Hand-Held Ban?

Yes, in school crossing zones and on public school property only. Primary law.

Texas
All Cell Phone Ban? School Bus Drivers

Yes, with minor passengers. Primary law.

Texas
All Cell Phone Ban? Novice Drivers

Drivers under 18. Primary law.

Texas
Text Messaging Ban?

All drivers. Primary law.

Texas
Speed Cameras: State Law

Prohibited

Texas
Speed Cameras: Where Permitted

n/a

Texas
Red Light Cameras: State Law

Prohibited

Texas
Red Light Cameras: Where Permitted

n/a

Texas
DUID Zero Tolerance or Per se Laws for Some Drugs

None

Texas
Marijuana Possession and Use

Illegal

Texas
Marijuana Impaired Driving

None

Distracted Driving Dangers: Texas Couple Pushing to Stop Cellphone Use Behind the Wheel

A Texas family has filed a lawsuit against Energy Transfer Partners, a company whose truck driver hit and killed their teenage son while he was distracted by a video on his phone.

Distracted Driving Dangers: Texas Couple Pushing to Stop Cellphone Use Behind the Wheel

Story by Kris Van Cleave
February 13, 2020

Subscribe to Texas