Missouri

GHSA maintains data on state laws surrounding a number of highway safety issues. Below is information regarding laws in the state of Missouri. For more information, consult the State Highway Safety Office.

Missouri Buckle Up Phone Down Campaign

Early in 2017, the Missouri Department of Transportation (MoDOT) launched the Buckle Up Phone Down (BUPD) challenge to drive down the increasing number of fatalities on Missouri roadways. The challenge focuses on two critical issues every Missourian can help address: unbuckled fatalities and distracted driving crashes. While only 13 percent of Missourians aren't buckling up, nearly two-thirds of people killed in crashes in the state are unbuckled.

Child Passenger Safety Laws: Missouri

Child Restraint Required

Under 4 yrs or under 40 lbs in child safety seat

4-7 yrs and 40-80 lbs and 4'9" or shorter in child safety seat or booster seat

4 yrs or over and 80 lbs or over or taller than 4'9" in booster seat or safety belt

Adult Safety Belt Permissible

8-16 yrs

4 yrs and over and over 80 lbs or over 4'9" tall

Maximum Fine for 1st Offense

$50

$10 for over 80 lbs or over 4'9" tall

Subscribe to Missouri