Nebraska

GHSA maintains data on state laws surrounding a number of highway safety issues. Below is information regarding laws in the state of Nebraska. For more information, consult the State Highway Safety Office.

Nebraska
AV legislation

Authorizes full deployment of AVs with or without a human operator.

Nebraska
Motorcycle Helmet Required?

Universal helmet law enacted 1989.

Nebraska
Length of Regular Renewal Cycle

5 years

Nebraska
Provisions for Mature Drivers

72 and over: no electronic renewal

Nebraska
DUID Zero Tolerance or Per se Laws for Some Drugs

None

Nebraska
Marijuana Possession and Use

Decriminalized

Nebraska
Marijuana Impaired Driving

None

Nebraska
Rural Interstates: Cars (MPH)

75

Nebraska
Rural Interstates: Trucks (MPH)

75

Nebraska
Urban Interstates: Cars (MPH)

70

Nebraska
Urban Interstates: Trucks (MPH)

70

Nebraska
Other Limited Access Roads: Cars (MPH)

70

Nebraska
Other Limited Access Roads: Trucks (MPH)

70

Nebraska
Increased penalty for high BAC

0.15

Nebraska
Administrative license suspension on first offense

90 days

Nebraska
Limited driving privileges during suspension

After 30 days

Nebraska
Ignition Interlocks

Mandatory for all convictions

Nebraska
Open container laws

Yes

Nebraska
Repeat Offender Laws

Yes

Nebraska
Child Restraint Required

Under 2 yrs until height or weight limit reached in rear-facing seat
Under 8 yrs in child safety seat and in rear seat if available

Nebraska
Adult Safety Belt Permissible

8-17 yrs

Nebraska
Full Privilege Minimum Age

Nighttime driving: 17 years
Driving with passengers: 16 years, 6 months

Nebraska
Learner Stage: Minimum Age (Years/Months)

15

Nebraska
Learner Stage: Minimum Duration (Months)

6

Nebraska
Learner Stage: Supervised Driving Hours (Night Hours in Parenthesis)

50 (10); 0 with driver's ed.

Nebraska
Intermediate Stage: Minimum Age (Years/Months)

16

Nebraska
Intermediate Stage: Nighttime Driving Restriction

Midnight - 6 a.m. (secondary enforcement)

Nebraska
Intermediate Stage: Passenger Restrictions (Except Family, Unless Noted)

First 6 months: no more than 1 under 19 (secondary enforcement)

Nebraska
In What Seat?

Front

Nebraska
Type of Law

Secondary

Nebraska
Who is Covered?

18 and over

Nebraska
Hand-Held Ban?

No

Nebraska
All Cell Phone Ban? School Bus Drivers

Yes. Primary law.

Nebraska
All Cell Phone Ban? Novice Drivers

Drivers under 18 with learner or intermediate license. Secondary law.

Nebraska
Text Messaging Ban?

All drivers. Secondary law.

Nebraska
Speed Cameras: State Law

None

Nebraska
Speed Cameras: Where Permitted

n/a

Nebraska
Red Light Cameras: State Law

None

Nebraska
Red Light Cameras: Where Permitted

n/a

Drowsy Driving Prevention Grant: Nebraska

In 2018, through a grant from the National Road Safety Foundation, the Nebraska Department of Transportation Highway Safety Office (NDOT-HSO) worked with two community colleges and one private college to carry out drowsy driving educational programming and present at lunch and learns. With the support of the local health district, NDOT-HSO was able to reach 300 students and approximately 500,000 citizens in the metro area during November and approximately 300,000 community members in the rural target counties during May and June. 

States Receive Funds to Tackle Teen Driver Safety

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE
July 17, 2018

CONTACT: Madison Forker, mforker@ghsa.org
202-789-0942 x120

Delaware, Louisiana, Montana, Nebraska, and Tennessee Awarded More than $70,000

WASHINGTON, D.C. – The Governors Highway Safety Association (GHSA) and Ford Driving Skills for Life (Ford DSFL) have awarded State Highway Safety Offices in five states funding to support teen safe driving programs.

Subscribe to Nebraska