South Dakota

GHSA maintains data on state laws surrounding a number of highway safety issues. Below is information regarding laws in the state of South Dakota. For more information, consult the State Highway Safety Office.

South Dakota
Motorcycle Helmet Required?

Helmets required for riders under 18. Universal helmet law repealed 1977.

South Dakota
Length of Regular Renewal Cycle

5 years

South Dakota
Provisions for Mature Drivers

65 and over: vision statement required

South Dakota
DUID Zero Tolerance or Per se Laws for Some Drugs

Zero tolerance for some drugs

South Dakota
Marijuana Possession and Use

Illegal

South Dakota
Marijuana Impaired Driving

Zero tolerance for THC and metabolites

South Dakota
Rural Interstates: Cars (MPH)

80

South Dakota
Rural Interstates: Trucks (MPH)

80

South Dakota
Urban Interstates: Cars (MPH)

80

South Dakota
Urban Interstates: Trucks (MPH)

80

South Dakota
Other Limited Access Roads: Cars (MPH)

70

South Dakota
Other Limited Access Roads: Trucks (MPH)

70

South Dakota
Increased penalty for high BAC

0.17

South Dakota
Administrative license suspension on first offense

30 days

South Dakota
Limited driving privileges during suspension

Yes

South Dakota
Ignition Interlocks

Discretionary

South Dakota
Open container laws

Yes

South Dakota
Repeat Offender Laws

No

South Dakota
Child Restraint Required

Under 2 yrs or until height or weight limit reached in rear-facing seat
2-8 yrs in forward-facing child safety seat or in booster seat secured by lap/shoulder belt (lap belt alone is not permissible)
7 yrs or under in rear seat if available

South Dakota
Adult Safety Belt Permissible

8 yrs and at least 57" if child can be properly secured by adult belt

South Dakota
Intermediate Stage: Nighttime Driving Restriction

10 p.m. - 6 a.m.

South Dakota
Intermediate Stage: Passenger Restrictions (Except Family, Unless Noted)

None

South Dakota
Full Privilege Minimum Age

16 years

South Dakota
Learner Stage: Minimum Age (Years/Months)

14

South Dakota
Learner Stage: Minimum Duration (Months)

180 days (less 90 days with driver's ed.)

South Dakota
Learner Stage: Supervised Driving Hours (Night Hours in Parenthesis)

None

South Dakota
Intermediate Stage: Minimum Age (Years/Months)

14 + 180 days (less 90 days with driver's ed.)

South Dakota
Type of Law

Secondary

South Dakota
Who is Covered?

18 and over

South Dakota
In What Seat?

Front

South Dakota
Hand-Held Ban?

Yes. Primary law.

South Dakota
All Cell Phone Ban? School Bus Drivers

No

South Dakota
All Cell Phone Ban? Novice Drivers

Drivers with learner or intermediate license. Secondary law.

South Dakota
Text Messaging Ban?

All drivers. Secondary law.

South Dakota
Speed Cameras: State Law

None

South Dakota
Speed Cameras: Where Permitted

n/a

South Dakota
Red Light Cameras: State Law

Prohibited

South Dakota
Red Light Cameras: Where Permitted

n/a

White Lake High School receives $10K from 'Lesson Learned SD' Program

The South Dakota Office of Highway Safety has completed another year of its "Lessons Learned SD" campaign, which encourages young drivers to watch and respond to safe driving videos. Office of Highway Safety Director and GHSA Treasurer Lee Axdahl comments on the campaign.

White Lake High School receives $10K from 'Lesson Learned SD' Program

September 19, 2018

Subscribe to South Dakota