Utah

GHSA maintains data on state laws surrounding a number of highway safety issues. Below is information regarding laws in the state of Utah. Please note that GHSA does not compile any additional data on state laws other than what is presented in these pages. For more information, consult the appropriate State Highway Safety Office.

Speed Limit Laws: Utah

Rural Interstates

Cars (MPH) Trucks (MPH)
75; 80 on specified segments 75; 80 on specified segments

Urban Interstates

Cars (MPH) Trucks (MPH)
65; 70 on specified segments 65; 70 on specified segments

Other Limited Access Roads

Cars (MPH) Trucks (MPH)

Teen and Novice Drivers: Utah

Full Privilege Minimum Age

Nighttime driving: 17 years

Driving with passengers: 16 years, 6 months

Learner Stage

Minimum Age (Years/Months)

Minimum Duration (Months)

Required Supervised Driving Hours (Night Hours)

15 6 40 (10)

Intermediate Stage

Minimum Age (Years/Months)

Nighttime Driving Restriction

Passenger Restriction (except family, unless noted)

Subscribe to Utah