State Laws & FundingNewsMeetingsIssuesPublicationsResourcesLinksAbout UsMembers Only

Calendar Icon Highway Safety Calendar

Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign Up for GHSA News

Close up on U.S. map from school globe

State Highway Safety Offices

Below is a list of the highway safety offices of states, territories, the District of Columbia and Puerto Rico, with links to each office's website.

Many State Highway Safety Offices (SHSOs) are located within their state's Department of Transportation. Others are part of the Public Safety Department or other state agency. A few are independent offices with state government.

SHSOs submit annual Highway Safety Plans (HSPs) to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) and assist their state DOTs in the development of the state's Strategic Highway Safety Plan (SHSP).

ADECA logo Alabama Department of Economic and Community Affairs Montana DOT logo Montana State Highway Traffic Safety Office
Alaska Highway Safety Office logo Alaska Highway Safety Office Nebraska DOR logo Nebraska Office of Highway Safety
American Samoa logo American Samoa Department of Public Safety Nevada DPS logo Nevada Office of Traffic Safety
Arizona GOHS logo Arizona Governor's Office of Highway Safety New Hampshire HSA logo New Hampshire Highway Safety Agency
Arkansas State Police logo Arkansas Highway Safety Office New Jersey DHTS logo New Jersey Division of Highway Traffic Safety
California OTS logo California Office of Traffic Safety New Mexico DOT logo New Mexico Traffic Safety Bureau
Colorado DOT logo Colorado Office of Transportation Safety New York GTSC logo New York Governor's Traffic Safety Committee
Connecticut DOT logo Connecticut Office of Highway Safety North Carolina Governor's Highway Safety Program North Carolina Governor's Highway Safety Program
Delaware OHS logo Delaware Office of Highway Safety North Dakota DOT logo North Dakota Department of Transportation
D.C. Highway Safety Office logo District Highway Safety Office Northern Mariana Islands Department of Public Safety logo Northern Mariana Islands Highway Safety Program
Florida DOT logo Florida State Safety Office Ohio Traffic Safety Office logo Ohio Traffic Safety Office
GOHS logo Georgia Governor's Office of Highway Safety Oklahoma HSO logo Oklahoma Highway Safety Office
Guam logo Guam Office of Highway Safety Oregon TSD logo Oregon Transportation Safety Division
Hawaii DOT logo Hawaii Department of Transportation Pennsylvania DOT logo Pennsylvania Bureau of Maintenance and Operations
Idaho DOT logo Idaho Office of Highway Safety Puerto Rico TSC logo Puerto Rico Traffic Safety Commission
Illinois DOT logo Illinois Division of Traffic Safety Rhode Island OHS Rhode Island Office of Highway Safety
Indiana CJI logo Indiana Criminal Justice Institute South Carolina DPS logo South Carolina Office of Highway Safety and Justice Programs
Iowa GTSB logo Iowa Governor's Traffic Safety Bureau South Dakota DPS logo South Dakota Office of Highway Safety
Kansas DOT logo Kansas Department of Transportation Tennessee Governor's Highway Safety Office
Kentucky Tranportation Cabinet logo Kentucky Office of Highway Safety Texas DOT logo Texas Traffic Safety Section
Louisiana HSC logo Louisiana Highway Safety Commission Utah DPS logo Utah Highway Safety Office
Maine DPS logo Maine Bureau of Highway Safety Vermont GHSP logo Vermont Governor's Highway Safety Program
Maryland Highway Safety Office logo Maryland Highway Safety Office Virgin Islands Police Dept. logo Virgin Islands Office of Highway Safety

Massachusetts logo Massachusetts Highway Safety Division Virginia HSO logo Virginia Highway Safety Office
Michigan OHSP logo Michigan Office of Highway Safety Planning Washington TSC logo Washington Traffic Safety Commission
Minnesota OTS logo Minnesota Office of Traffic Safety West Virginia DOT logo West Virginia Governor's Highway Safety Program
Mississippi GOHS logo Mississippi Office of Highway Safety Wisconsin DOT logo Wisconsin Bureau of Transportation Safety
Missouri DOT logo Missouri Traffic and Highway Safety Division Wyoming HSP logo Wyoming Highway Safety Program