Arkansas

GHSA maintains data on state laws surrounding a number of highway safety issues. Below is information regarding laws in the state of Arkansas. Please note that GHSA does not compile any additional data on state laws other than what is presented in these pages. For more information, consult the appropriate State Highway Safety Office.

  • Alcohol Impaired Driving

    Penalties

    Increased Penalty for High BAC Administrative License Suspension on First Offense Limited Driving Privileges During Suspension Vehicle and License Plate Sanctions
    .15 6 months Yes Vehicle confiscation

    Ignition Interlocks

    Mandatory for all convictions

    Other

    Open Container Laws Repeat Offender Laws Alcohol Exclusion Laws Limiting Treatment
    No Yes Yes

     

  • Bicyclists and Pedestrians

    No bicycle helmet law.

  • Child Passenger Safety

    Child Restraint Required

    5 yrs and under and under 60 lbs

    Adult Safety Belt Permissible

    6-14 yrs or 60 lbs and over

    Maximum Fine for 1st Offense

    $100

  • Distracted Driving

    Hand-Held Ban?

    Drivers 18-20 years old. Primary law.

    All Cell Phone Ban?

    School Bus Drivers

    Yes. Primary law.

    Novice Drivers

    Drivers under 18. Secondary law.

    Text Messaging Ban?

    All drivers. Primary law.

    *Note: Arkansas also bans the use of hand-held cell phones while driving in a school zone or in a highway construction zone. This law is secondarily enforced. 

  • Drowsy Driving

    Effective 2013. Defines fatigue as being without sleep for a period in excess of 24 consecutive hours "or in the state of being asleep” (Arkansas General Assembly, 2013).

  • Drug Impaired Driving

    DUID Zero Tolerance or Per se Laws for Some Drugs

    • None

    Marijuana-Specific Laws

    • Possession and Use: Legal for medical use
    • Impaired Driving: None
  • Mature Drivers

    Length of Regular Renewal Cycle

    4 years

    Provisions for Mature Drivers

    None

     

  • Motorcyclists

    Helmets required for riders under 21. Universal helmet law repealed 1997.

  • Seat Belts

    Type of Law

    Primary

    Who Is Covered?

    Riders 15 and over

    In What Seat?

    Front

    Maximum Fine for 1st Offense

    $25 plus court costs and city/county jail fines

  • Sobriety Checkpoints

    Checkpoints are conducted weekly. Their legality is upheld under state and federal Constitution.

  • Speed and Red Light Cameras

    Speed Cameras

    Violation/State Law

    Prohibited (with narrow exceptions)

    Permitted Locations/Criteria

    School zones or rail crossings when officer is present and citation issued at time of offense. No current programs.


    Red Light Cameras

    Violation/State Law

    Prohibited (with narrow exceptions)

    Permitted Locations/Criteria

    School zones or rail crossings when officer is present and citation issued at time or offense. No current programs.

  • Speeding and Aggressive Driving

    Rural Interstates

    Cars (MPH) Trucks (MPH)
    70 (75 on specified limits)  70 (75 on specified limits)

    Urban Interstates

    Cars (MPH) Trucks (MPH)
    60 (75 on specified limits) 60 (75 on specified limits)

    Other Limited Access Roads

    Cars (MPH) Trucks (MPH)
    65 65

     

  • Teen and Novice Drivers

    Full Privilege Minimum Age

    18 years

    Learner Stage

    Minimum Age (Years/Months)

    Minimum Duration (Months)

    Required Supervised Driving Hours (Night Hours)

    14 6 None

    Intermediate Stage

    Minimum Age (Years/Months)

    Nighttime Driving Restriction

    Passenger Restriction (except family, unless noted)

    16 11 p.m. - 4 a.m. No more than 1 under 21

     

  • Work Zones

    Violations Affected

    All moving traffic violations

    Enhanced Penalties

    Double original fine

    Workers Must Be Present?

    Yes

    Signs Must Be Present?

    Yes