Pennsylvania

GHSA maintains data on state laws surrounding a number of highway safety issues. Below is information regarding laws in the state of Pennsylvania. Please note that GHSA does not compile any additional data on state laws other than what is presented in these pages. For more information, consult the appropriate State Highway Safety Office.

  • Alcohol Impaired Driving

    Penalties

    Increased Penalty for High BAC Administrative License Suspension on First Offense Limited Driving Privileges During Suspension Vehicle and License Plate Sanctions
    .10   See note  

    Ignition Interlocks

    Mandatory for high BAC (.10 or higher) and repeat convictions (effective 8/25/17)

    Other

    Open Container Laws Repeat Offender Laws Alcohol Exclusion Laws Limiting Treatment
    Yes Yes Yes

    *NOTE: Pennsylvania uses programs called Occupational Limited License (OLL) and Ignition Interlock Limited License (IILL).

  • Autonomous Vehicles

    Allows the use of allocated funds for intelligent transportation system applications, including AV technology.

  • Bicyclists and Pedestrians

    Bicycle helmets required for all riders under 12.

  • Child Passenger Safety

    Child Restraint Required

    Under 2 yrs (or until outgrows the top height or weight recommendations) in rear-facing child restraint

    7 yrs or under in child restraint or booster seat

    Adult Safety Belt Permissible

    Not permissible

    Maximum Fine for 1st Offense

    $75

  • Distracted Driving

    Hand-Held Ban?

    No

    All Cell Phone Ban?

    School Bus Drivers

    No

    Novice Drivers

    No

    Text Messaging Ban?

    All drivers. Primary law.

  • Drug Impaired Driving

    DUID Zero Tolerance or Per se Laws for Some Drugs

    • Zero tolerance for some drugs

    Marijuana-Specific Laws

    • Possession and Use: Legal for medical use
    • Impaired Driving: THC per se (1 ng)
  • Mature Drivers

    Length of Regular Renewal Cycle

    4 years

    Provisions for Mature Drivers

    None

  • Motorcyclists

    Helmets required for all riders under 21 or who have been licensed for less than 2 years, except those who complete a PennDOT- or Motorcycle Safety Foundation-approved safety course. Universal helmet law repealed 2003.

  • Seat Belts

    Type of Law

    Secondary

    Who Is Covered?

    Riders 8 and over (primary law for riders 8-17)

    In What Seat?

    Riders 18 and over: Front

    Riders 8-17: All

    Maximum Fine for 1st Offense

    $10

  • Sobriety Checkpoints

    Several hundred checkpoints are conducted yearly. Their legality is upheld under state and federal Constitution.

  • Speed and Red Light Cameras

    Speed Cameras

    No state law or programs


    Red Light Cameras

    Violation/State Law

    Limited

    Permitted Locations/Criteria

    Philadelphia, Pittsburgh, and municipalities with a population greater than 20,000 and a police department accredited by the Pennsylvania Chiefs of Police Association in Bucks, Chester, Delaware, and Montgomery Counties; requires local ordinance

    Citation Issued To/Liability

    Registered owner/Owner

    Image Taken

    Photos

    Penalties (Traditional Penalties)

    $100 maximum; not on operating record ($25 maximum; 3 points)

  • Speeding and Aggressive Driving

    Rural Interstates

    Cars (MPH) Trucks (MPH)
    65 65

    Urban Interstates

    Cars (MPH) Trucks (MPH)
    65 65

    Other Limited Access Roads

    Cars (MPH) Trucks (MPH)
    65 65

    *NOTE: Limit of 70 MPH on specific segments based on an engineering and traffic investigation

    Aggressive Driver Actions Defined by Statute

    None defined. House passed a resolution to encourage drivers to drive courteously and defensively, not aggressively and resolved to support measures that would promote safe driving practices.

  • Teen and Novice Drivers

    Full Privilege Minimum Age

    17 years with driver's ed. and 12 months free of crash or conviction

    18 without driver's ed.

    Learner Stage

    Minimum Age (Years/Months)

    Minimum Duration (Months)

    Required Supervised Driving Hours (Night Hours)

    16 6 65 (10) + 5 in inclement weather

    Intermediate Stage

    Minimum Age (Years/Months)

    Nighttime Driving Restriction

    Passenger Restriction (except family, unless noted)

    16 / 6 11 p.m. - 5 a.m. First 6 months: no more than 1 under 18
  • Work Zones

    Violations Affected

    Various

    Enhanced Penalties

    Double original fine

    Workers Must Be Present?

    Yes

    Signs Must Be Present?

    Yes