Arizona

GHSA maintains data on state laws surrounding a number of highway safety issues. Below is information regarding laws in the state of Arizona. For more information, consult the State Highway Safety Office.

Arizona
AV legislation

Authorizes full deployment with or without a human operator depending on level of vehicle automation.

Arizona
Motorcycle Helmet Required?

Helmets required for riders under 18. Universal helmet law repealed 1976.

Arizona
Length of Regular Renewal Cycle

Until age 65

Arizona
Provisions for Mature Drivers

65 and over: renewal every 5 years, mail renewal requires passage of vision exam within the prior 3 months
70 and over: no mail renewal

Arizona
DUID Zero Tolerance or Per se Laws for Some Drugs

Zero tolerance for some drugs

Arizona
Marijuana Possession and Use

Legal for medical use

Arizona
Marijuana Impaired Driving

Zero tolerance for THC and metabolites

Arizona
Rural Interstates: Cars (MPH)

75

Arizona
Rural Interstates: Trucks (MPH)

75

Arizona
Urban Interstates: Cars (MPH)

65

Arizona
Urban Interstates: Trucks (MPH)

65

Arizona
Other Limited Access Roads: Cars (MPH)

65

Arizona
Other Limited Access Roads: Trucks (MPH)

65

Arizona
Administrative license suspension on first offense

90 days

Arizona
Limited driving privileges during suspension

After 30 days

Arizona
Ignition Interlocks

Mandatory for all convictions

Arizona
Open container laws

Yes

Arizona
Repeat Offender Laws

Yes

Arizona
Increased penalty for high BAC

0.15

Arizona
Child Restraint Required

4 yrs or under
5-7 yrs and under 57" tall

Arizona
Adult Safety Belt Permissible

5-7 yrs and over 57" tall

Arizona
Full Privilege Minimum Age

16 years, 6 months

Arizona
Learner Stage: Minimum Age (Years/Months)

15 / 6

Arizona
Learner Stage: Minimum Duration (Months)

6

Arizona
Learner Stage: Supervised Driving Hours (Night Hours in Parenthesis)

30 (10); 0 with driver's ed.

Arizona
Intermediate Stage: Minimum Age (Years/Months)

16

Arizona
Intermediate Stage: Nighttime Driving Restriction

Midnight - 5 a.m. (secondary enforcement)

Arizona
Intermediate Stage: Passenger Restrictions (Except Family, Unless Noted)

First 6 months: no more than 1 under 18 (secondary enforcement)

Arizona
Type of Law

Secondary

Arizona
Who is Covered?

8 and over

Arizona
In What Seat?

8-15 yrs: All
8 and over: Front

Arizona
All Cell Phone Ban? School Bus Drivers

Yes. Primary law.

Arizona
All Cell Phone Ban? Novice Drivers

Yes, for instruction and intermediate permit holders under 18. Secondary Law.

Arizona
Text Messaging Ban?

All drivers. Primary law.

Arizona
Hand-Held Ban?

Yes. Primary law. (Warning period in effect through 01/01/2021)

Arizona
Speed Cameras: State Law

Permitted by state law

Arizona
Speed Cameras: Where Permitted

Statewide; not permitted on state highways; not permitted within 600 feet of posted speed limit change except near school crossing

Arizona
Red Light Cameras: State Law

Permitted by state law

Arizona
Red Light Cameras: Where Permitted

Statewide; not permitted on state highways; not permitted within 600 feet of posted speed limit change except near school crossing

Subscribe to Arizona