Roadway Safety Awards

Each year, in conjunction with its Annual Meeting, GHSA recognizes various organizations and individuals for achievements in the field of traffic safety through its Roadway Safety Awards.

2024 Roadway Safety Awards

Nominations for GHSA’s 2024 Roadway Safety Awards, sponsored by and the National Road Safety Foundation, closed on April 5. Awards will be presented at the GHSA 2024 Annual Meeting, September 7-11 in Indianapolis.

GHSA's newest award, introduced in 2008, honors an individual who has made notable improvements in the management or implementation of a highway safety program or policy, or provided outstanding service to GHSA, federal safety agencies, or other national highway safety organizations.
The Peter K. O'Rourke Special Achievement Awards recognize notable achievements in the field of highway safety by individuals, coalitions, organizations, nonprofit groups, businesses, media, government agencies, universities or programs.
The James J. Howard Highway Safety Trailblazer Award is GHSA's highest award. The award honors an individual for sustained, outstanding leadership in endeavors that significantly improve highway safety.