Lee Axdahl, GHSA Treasurer

Director, South Dakota Office of Highway Safety

Lee Axdahl
Lee Axdahl

Lee Axdahl was first elected Treasurer of GHSA in 2016, a post he continues to hold. He also served as Chair of the Policy and Bylaws Committee. Axdahl successfully influenced the language contained in the FAST Act on behalf of GHSA membership as Chair of the Reauthorization Subcommittee.

Axdahl was appointed Director of the South Dakota Office of Highway Safety in 2010 under Governor M. Michael Rounds. He continues in this capacity under current South Dakota Governor Kristi Noem, the first woman to hold that position.

Axdahl had a long history in broadcast production, reporting and station management prior to joining state government in 2007. He has won numerous broadcast journalism awards, owned several radio stations, and served as President of the South Dakota Broadcasters Association. His expert skills in electronic communication, demographic strategy and general media knowledge are evident in the successful safety campaigns orchestrated by his office. Having dealt with the Federal Communications Commission for decades, he is well-versed with complicated statutory and regulatory issues and is extremely comfortable applying similar federal guidelines at the local and regional level.

Axdahl is a St. Paul, Minnesota, native (go Vikings!) and a graduate of Augustana University in Sioux Falls, South Dakota.