GHSA Research Committee

The GHSA Research Committee monitors and facilitates the activities of the Behavioral Traffic Safety Cooperative Research Program. The Committee reviews and scores research problem statements annually, recommending which projects receive funding through the program. The GHSA Executive Board reviews and approves these recommendations. The Committee's ultimate goal is to oversee a quality research program that is committed to addressing research issues facing the State Highway Safety Offices and to promote research findings that improve highway safety.

The Chair of the GHSA Executive Board appoints the Chair of the Research Committee.

Mark Ezzell, GHSA Research Committee Chair

Chair, Mark Ezzell
Director, North Carolina Governor's Highway Safety Program


Chris Bortz, GHSA Research Committee Member

Chris Bortz
Traffic Safety Program Manager, Kansas Department of Transportation

Tim Kerns, GHSA Research Committee Member

Tim Kerns
Director, Highway Safety Office, Maryland Motor Vehicle Administration

Amy Boggs, GHSA Research Committee Member

Amy Boggs
Grants Program Manager, State Child Passenger Safety Coordinator, West Virginia Governor’s Highway Safety Program

Amanda Kurth, GHSA Research Committee Member

Amanda Kurth
Director, Office of Highway Safety/Accident Records, South Dakota Department of Public Safety


Max Tyler Roberts, GHSA Research Committee Member

Max Tyler Roberts
Research Associate, Washington Traffic Safety Commission