Kansas

GHSA maintains data on state laws surrounding a number of highway safety issues. Below is information regarding laws in the state of Kansas. For more information, consult the State Highway Safety Office.

Kansas
Motorcycle Helmet Required?

Helmets required for all riders under 18. Universal helmet law repealed 1976.

Kansas
Length of Regular Renewal Cycle

6 years

Kansas
Provisions for Mature Drivers

65 and over: renewal every 4 years

Kansas
DUID Zero Tolerance or Per se Laws for Some Drugs

None

Kansas
Marijuana Possession and Use

Illegal

Kansas
Marijuana Impaired Driving

None

Kansas
Rural Interstates: Cars (MPH)

75

Kansas
Rural Interstates: Trucks (MPH)

75

Kansas
Urban Interstates: Cars (MPH)

70

Kansas
Urban Interstates: Trucks (MPH)

70

Kansas
Other Limited Access Roads: Cars (MPH)

70

Kansas
Other Limited Access Roads: Trucks (MPH)

70

Kansas
Increased penalty for high BAC

0.15

Kansas
Administrative license suspension on first offense

30 days

Kansas
Limited driving privileges during suspension

None

Kansas
Ignition Interlocks

Highly incentivized for all convictions

Kansas
Open container laws

Yes

Kansas
Repeat Offender Laws

Yes

Kansas
Adult Safety Belt Permissible

8 years old and over 80 lbs or taller than 57" tall

Kansas
Child Restraint Required

Under age 4 in an appropriate child restraint
4-8 years, under 80 pounds or 57” tall in an appropriate child restraint or booster seat

Kansas
Full Privilege Minimum Age

16 years, 6 months

Kansas
Learner Stage: Minimum Age (Years/Months)

14

Kansas
Learner Stage: Minimum Duration (Months)

12

Kansas
Learner Stage: Supervised Driving Hours (Night Hours in Parenthesis)

50 (10)

Kansas
Intermediate Stage: Minimum Age (Years/Months)

16 (at 15, can drive without supervision to and from work or school)

Kansas
Intermediate Stage: Nighttime Driving Restriction

First 6 months: 9 p.m. - 5 a.m.

Kansas
Intermediate Stage: Passenger Restrictions (Except Family, Unless Noted)

First 6 months: no more than 1 non-sibling

Kansas
Type of Law

Primary

Kansas
Who is Covered?

14 and over

Kansas
In What Seat?

14-17 yrs: All 18 and over: Front (other seating positions are secondary enforcement)

Kansas
Hand-Held Ban?

No

Kansas
All Cell Phone Ban? School Bus Drivers

No

Kansas
All Cell Phone Ban? Novice Drivers

Drivers with learner or intermediate license. Primary law.

Kansas
Text Messaging Ban?

All drivers. Primary law.

Kansas
Red Light Cameras: Where Permitted

n/a

Kansas
Speed Cameras: State Law

None

Kansas
Speed Cameras: Where Permitted

n/a

Kansas
Red Light Cameras: State Law

None

Kansas State Judicial Outreach Liaison

Summary

The State Judicial Outreach Liaison (SJOL) program was established to educate judges on the front-line through peer-to-peer interactions. SJOLs function as educators, writers, consultants and liaisons, to share the latest research on impaired driving with the judges of their state. In addition to informing sentencing and interventions in this manner, SJOLs can also provide important insight to policy makers attempting to improve impaired driving traffic safety.

Subscribe to Kansas