Ohio

GHSA maintains data on state laws surrounding a number of highway safety issues. Below is information regarding laws in the state of Ohio. For more information, consult the State Highway Safety Office.

Ohio
AV legislation

Authorizes AV testing without a human operator.

Ohio
Motorcycle Helmet Required?

Helmets required for riders under 18 or who have been licensed for less than one year as well as for all passengers when the operator is required to wear a helmet. Universal helmet law repealed 1978.

Ohio
Length of Regular Renewal Cycle

4 years

Ohio
Provisions for Mature Drivers

None

Ohio
DUID Zero Tolerance or Per se Laws for Some Drugs

Per se >0 for some drugs

Ohio
Marijuana Possession and Use

Decriminalized and legal for medical use

Ohio
Marijuana Impaired Driving

THC per se (2 ng)

Ohio
Urban Interstates: Cars (MPH)

65

Ohio
Urban Interstates: Trucks (MPH)

65

Ohio
Other Limited Access Roads: Cars (MPH)

70

Ohio
Other Limited Access Roads: Trucks (MPH)

70

Ohio
Rural Interstates: Cars (MPH)

70

Ohio
Rural Interstates: Trucks (MPH)

70

Ohio
Increased penalty for high BAC

0.17

Ohio
Administrative license suspension on first offense

90 days

Ohio
Limited driving privileges during suspension

After 15 days

Ohio
Ignition Interlocks

Mandatory for repeat convictions

Ohio
Open container laws

No

Ohio
Repeat Offender Laws

No

Ohio
Child Restraint Required

Under 4 yrs or under 40 lbs in child safety seat
4-7 yrs and over 40 lbs and under 4'9" tall in booster seat

Ohio
Adult Safety Belt Permissible

8-14 yrs

Ohio
Learner Stage: Minimum Age (Years/Months)

15 / 6

Ohio
Learner Stage: Minimum Duration (Months)

6

Ohio
Learner Stage: Supervised Driving Hours (Night Hours in Parenthesis)

50 (10)

Ohio
Intermediate Stage: Minimum Age (Years/Months)

16

Ohio
Intermediate Stage: Nighttime Driving Restriction

Age 16: Midnight - 6 a.m.
Age 17: 1 a.m. - 5 a.m. (secondary enforcement)

Ohio
Intermediate Stage: Passenger Restrictions (Except Family, Unless Noted)

First 12 months, no more than 1 unless supervised

Ohio
Full Privilege Minimum Age

Nighttime driving: 18 years
Driving with passengers: 17 years

Ohio
Type of Law

Secondary

Ohio
Who is Covered?

8 and over

Ohio
In What Seat?

8-14 yrs: All (primary enforcement)
15 and over: Front

Ohio
Hand-Held Ban?

No

Ohio
All Cell Phone Ban? School Bus Drivers

No

Ohio
All Cell Phone Ban? Novice Drivers

Drivers under 18. Primary law.

Ohio
Text Messaging Ban?

All drivers. Primary law.

Ohio
Speed Cameras: State Law

Permitted by state law

Ohio
Speed Cameras: Where Permitted

Statewide; not permitted on interstates when operated by townships

Ohio
Red Light Cameras: State Law

Permitted by state law and city ordinance

Ohio
Red Light Cameras: Where Permitted

Statewide

Ohio Law Would Fine, Suspend Drivers for Using Cellphone and Driving

In his latest push for roadway safety, Gov. Mike DeWine on Thursday threw his weight behind new legislation that would ban the use of hand-held wireless devices – cellphones and other electronics – while driving and give police the power to pull over motorists for violations.

Ohio Law Would Fine, Suspend Drivers for Using Cellphone and Driving

Story by Laura A. Bischoff
February 13, 2020

Subscribe to Ohio