Wisconsin

GHSA maintains data on state laws surrounding a number of highway safety issues. Below is information regarding laws in the state of Wisconsin. For more information, consult the State Highway Safety Office.

Wisconsin
AV legislation

Authorized a study on AVs.

Wisconsin
Motorcycle Helmet Required?

Helmets required for riders under 18 or with instructional permit. Universal helmet law repealed 1978.

Wisconsin
Length of Regular Renewal Cycle

8 years

Wisconsin
Provisions for Mature Drivers

None

Wisconsin
DUID Zero Tolerance or Per se Laws for Some Drugs

Zero tolerance for some drugs

Wisconsin
Marijuana Possession and Use

Illegal

Wisconsin
Marijuana Impaired Driving

Zero tolerance for delta-9-THC

Wisconsin
Rural Interstates: Cars (MPH)

70

Wisconsin
Rural Interstates: Trucks (MPH)

70

Wisconsin
Urban Interstates: Cars (MPH)

70

Wisconsin
Urban Interstates: Trucks (MPH)

70

Wisconsin
Other Limited Access Roads: Cars (MPH)

70

Wisconsin
Other Limited Access Roads: Trucks (MPH)

70

Wisconsin
Ignition Interlocks

Mandatory for high BAC (.15 or higher) and repeat convictions

Wisconsin
Open container laws

Yes

Wisconsin
Repeat Offender Laws

yes

Wisconsin
Increased penalty for high BAC

.17, .20 and .25

Wisconsin
Administrative license suspension on first offense

6-9 months

Wisconsin
Limited driving privileges during suspension

Yes

Wisconsin
Child Restraint Required

Under 1 yr or under 20 lbs in rear-facing child restraint 
1-3 yrs and 20-40 lbs must be in either a rear- or forward-facing child restraint 
4-7 yrs and 40-80 lbs and under 57" tall must be in either a rear- or forward-facing child restraint or a booster seat
Under 4 years and less than 40 lbs, or if the child is in a rear- or forward-facing child restraint, they mist be in the rear vehicle seat, if available

Wisconsin
Adult Safety Belt Permissible

8 yrs or older or more than 80 lbs or taller than 57"

Wisconsin
Full Privilege Minimum Age

16 years, 9 months

Wisconsin
Learner Stage: Minimum Age (Years/Months)

15 / 6

Wisconsin
Learner Stage: Minimum Duration (Months)

6

Wisconsin
Learner Stage: Supervised Driving Hours (Night Hours in Parenthesis)

30 (10)

Wisconsin
Intermediate Stage: Minimum Age (Years/Months)

16

Wisconsin
Intermediate Stage: Nighttime Driving Restriction

Midnight - 5 a.m.

Wisconsin
Intermediate Stage: Passenger Restrictions (Except Family, Unless Noted)

No more than 1

Wisconsin
Type of Law

Primary

Wisconsin
Who is Covered?

8 and over

Wisconsin
In What Seat?

All

Wisconsin
Text Messaging Ban?

All drivers. Primary law.

Wisconsin
Hand-Held Ban?

No, except in work zones.

Wisconsin
All Cell Phone Ban? School Bus Drivers

No

Wisconsin
All Cell Phone Ban? Novice Drivers

Drivers with learner or intermediate license. Primary law.

Wisconsin
Speed Cameras: State Law

Prohibited

Wisconsin
Speed Cameras: Where Permitted

n/a

Wisconsin
Red Light Cameras: State Law

None

Wisconsin
Red Light Cameras: Where Permitted

n/a

Subscribe to Wisconsin