Wyoming

GHSA maintains data on state laws surrounding a number of highway safety issues. Below is information regarding laws in the state of Wyoming. For more information, consult the State Highway Safety Office.

Wyoming
Motorcycle Helmet Required?

Helmets required for riders under 18. Universal helmet law repealed 1983.

Wyoming
Length of Regular Renewal Cycle

4 years

Wyoming
Provisions for Mature Drivers

None

Wyoming
DUID Zero Tolerance or Per se Laws for Some Drugs

None

Wyoming
Marijuana Possession and Use

Illegal

Wyoming
Marijuana Impaired Driving

None

Wyoming
Other Limited Access Roads: Cars (MPH)

65 (70 on specified segments)

Wyoming
Other Limited Access Roads: Trucks (MPH)

65 (70 on specified segments)

Wyoming
Rural Interstates: Cars (MPH)

75 (80 on specified segments)

Wyoming
Rural Interstates: Trucks (MPH)

75 (80 on specified segments)

Wyoming
Urban Interstates: Cars (MPH)

75 (80 on specified segments)

Wyoming
Urban Interstates: Trucks (MPH)

75 (80 on specified segments)

Wyoming
Increased penalty for high BAC

0.15

Wyoming
Administrative license suspension on first offense

90 days

Wyoming
Limited driving privileges during suspension

yes

Wyoming
Ignition Interlocks

Mandatory for high BAC (.15 or higher) and repeat convictions

Wyoming
Open container laws

No

Wyoming
Repeat Offender Laws

No

Wyoming
Child Restraint Required

8 yrs or under in rear seat if available

Wyoming
Adult Safety Belt Permissible

9 yrs or older

Wyoming
Learner Stage: Supervised Driving Hours (Night Hours in Parenthesis)

50 (10)

Wyoming
Intermediate Stage: Minimum Age (Years/Months)

16

Wyoming
Intermediate Stage: Nighttime Driving Restriction

11 p.m. - 5 a.m.

Wyoming
Intermediate Stage: Passenger Restrictions (Except Family, Unless Noted)

No more than 1 under 18

Wyoming
Full Privilege Minimum Age

16 years, 6 months

Wyoming
Learner Stage: Minimum Age (Years/Months)

15

Wyoming
Learner Stage: Minimum Duration (Months)

10 days

Wyoming
Type of Law

Secondary

Wyoming
Who is Covered?

9 and over

Wyoming
In What Seat?

All

Wyoming
Hand-Held Ban?

No

Wyoming
All Cell Phone Ban? School Bus Drivers

No

Wyoming
All Cell Phone Ban? Novice Drivers

No

Wyoming
Text Messaging Ban?

All drivers. Primary law.

Wyoming
Speed Cameras: State Law

None

Wyoming
Speed Cameras: Where Permitted

n/a

Wyoming
Red Light Cameras: State Law

None

Wyoming
Red Light Cameras: Where Permitted

n/a

Subscribe to Wyoming